The Way to Game the Walk of Shame

Standard
The Way to Game the Walk of Shame

Sometimes the only thing you can control about high school is the image you present. When you lose control of that, it can feel like a disaster.  But sometimes it takes a disaster to help us understand who we really are and what we really want.

image

The Way to Game the Walk of Shame will be available on Tuesday, June 7, 2016.

Goodreads Summary

Taylor Simmons is screwed.

Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip.

Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic relationship. After all, it’s better to be the girl who tames the wild surfer than just another notch on his surfboard.

My Thoughts

I thoroughly enjoyed this YA contemporary romance.  The characters are likeable and easy to connect with despite their flaws.  The plot moves quickly enough to keep readers engaged, but there is definitely care taken to develop a believable and enviable romantic relationship between the leads.  It was sweet and just the right amount of romance for a high school read.  I’m not a huge fan of dual narratives, but being able to see what was going on in Evan’s mind really increased his swoon factor – ladies, you are going to be pleased with this book boyfriend.  Even the conflicts were ones that I thought added enough drama to be interesting but still be believable.  I loved that this book left me feeling happy but didn’t go out of its way to make everything artificially perfect.  I think this is definitely a book my high school girls will enjoy, so it’s going on my classroom library wishlist, and I’ll be looking for more from this author.  Lots of kissing, some suggestions and a few light swears, but overall, this is a pretty clean read.  I think it is appropriate for ages 14+.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

