Ice Massacre – These are the mermaids Homer warned you about, but these aren’t your average sailors

Standard
Ice Massacre – These are the mermaids Homer warned you about, but these aren’t your average sailors

Mermaids aren’t my thing, but a ship full of warrior women out to exterminate them had some real possibilities.  It didn’t quite live up to my expectations, but it was engaging enough to keep me reading for a few hours straight.  I ultimately gave it only three stars, but other reviewers on Goodreads were more impressed.

image

Goodreads Summary

A mermaid’s supernatural beauty serves one purpose: to lure a sailor to his death.

The Massacre is supposed to bring peace to Eriana Kwai. Every year, the island sends its warriors to battle these hostile sea demons. Every year, the warriors fail to return.

Desperate for survival, the island must decide on a new strategy. Now, the fate of Eriana Kwai lies in the hands of twenty battle-trained girls and their resistance to a mermaid’s allure.

Eighteen-year-old Meela has already lost her brother to the Massacre, and she has lived with a secret that’s haunted her since childhood. For any hope of survival, she must overcome the demons of her past and become a ruthless mermaid killer.

For the first time, Eriana Kwai’s Massacre warriors are female, and Meela must fight for her people’s freedom on the Pacific Ocean’s deadliest battleground.

My Thoughts

I loved the idea of a ship of warrior women going out to conquer the enemy that was holding their society captive.  The battle scenes were interesting and tense, and the enemy was frightening and still managed to retain the universal “human” qualities necessary for the plot to make sense.  I loved the close friendships the main character had, and overall, I was engaged.  The problem for me really came in some of the details.  The time frame was murky for me – wooden ships but also helicopters.  I wish that had been clarified in the development of the setting simply because it would have helped me stop wondering about it every time I saw something that seemed off.  I also had trouble with some of the logic of sending only newbies out for the massacre.  Why weren’t the seasoned warriors accompanying these girls?  If things were so desperate, why weren’t the ones with experience on board to guide these untried fighters? This society just sends a bunch of eighteen year old girls out without any help?  Nope.  I also had to ask what exactly they had been doing in their five years of training since they had few team tactics or a developed sense of discipline and respect for leadership.  They are teen girls, but basic training in the military manages to instill those traits, and it doesn’t take five years.  These questions kept me from being able to immerse myself fully in the book, so, while they might be small issues (and ones I think could easily have been fixed) they were important.  I liked the story, and I would be interested in seeing what happens next, but tightening up the holes in logic would have made this book so much stronger.  Language and situations are appropriate for grades 9+.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

